How will the financial prizes be distributed in the Club World Cup?

Quality Sport Images/GettyImages

The FIFA Club World Cup 2023 kicks off in Saudi Arabia on Tuesday, opening with a match between Al-Ittihad Jeddah and New Zealand's Auckland City.

The winner of the opening match is set to face Egypt's Al-Ahly, while Manchester City and Brazilian side Fluminense will begin their journey from the semi-final stage.

Several Changes

In the inaugural edition of the Club World Cup in 2000, the International Football Association (FIFA) offered a total prize pool of $28 million to the participants.

Clubs finishing fifth to eighth received $2.5 million, with the fourth-place team earning $3 million and the third-place finisher taking home $4 million.

The runner-up received $5 million, while the winner, at that time Corinthians from Brazil, received $6 million.

With the tournament's hiatus and its return in 2005, FIFA decided to distribute different amounts compared to the opening edition, reducing the total amount to $16 million. The champion received $5 million, and the runner-up earned $4 million.

The third-place team received $2.5 million, compared to $2 million for the fourth-place finisher, $1.5 million for the fifth-place finisher, and $1 million for the sixth-place finisher.

In the 2007 edition, the total prize money was increased by half a million dollars to $16.5 million.

In the current edition, the total prize pool is set to be $16.5 million, distributed as follows:

Champion: $5 million.

Runner-up: $4 million.

Third place: $2.5 million.

Fourth place: $2 million.

Fifth place: $1.5 million.

Sixth place: $1 million.

Seventh and last place: $500,000.